Fallout is a game that sees the world after a world war in which nuclear weapons have caused great damage and now the survivors must figure out how to survive on Earth.

You need to know about the Fallout games, their orders, and any spin-off games created.

Fallout game release order

The games show what life is like after the Great War on October 23, 2077, with a two-hour war and massive damage caused by nuclear machinery.

Prior to that, the 2052 Resource Wars saw conflict between the European Commonwealth and the Middle East, with the United States invading Canada and China taking over Anchorage, Alaska.


Platform: PC

The game was released on October 10, 1977, and a sequel was announced soon after.

The game uses a special character creation system, with special standing for: Sstrength, Poutburst etcendurance, CHarishma, iintelligence, Agility and Luck


The Fallout franchise consisted of five main series games and then a few other spin-off gamesCredit: Handout

The player in this game is a Vault Dweller, who is basically a survivor who breaks out of a vault.

The problem is that Vault 13’s water chip is broken and the water recycling and pumping machines are not working.

Doom games in order: by release date and timeline
You need to find all these plants to get the plant badge in Stray

The player has about 150 days before the water runs out and enlists the help of Hub who gives him a mission to kill the Master who believes that if humans become mutants they will become closer to each other.

Fallout 2

Platform: PC

The game was released on September 30, 1998, and sees the end of the Vault Dwellers after being exposed to an outside toxic energy for a long time.

After being banished from his Vault 13, he goes to Arroyo and finally disappears.

But now, in the year 2241, Arroyo is experiencing a record drought, and so the village elders ask the Chosen One, a descendant of the Vault Dweller, to find the Garden of Eden Creation Kit (GECK).

This device can help a community that faces post-apocalyptic warfare thrive.

Fallout 3

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360

The game released on October 28, 2008 marks the 200th anniversary of the Great War.

The game will explore the story of the Lone Wanderer who lived in Vault 101 and is in search of his father James.

As he does so, he struggles to survive and gets caught up in a battle between factions who want to reclaim the wasteland.

It does not follow other games as the developer has switched from Black Isle Studios to Bethesda Game Studios.

Fallout 4

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One

Released on November 10, 2015, the game now follows the story of the sole survivor of Vault 111 who is searching for their missing son.

While searching Boston to find Sean, the sole survivor finds himself at The Institute – an organization obsessed with synths that are biological human-like robots.

There are ethical questions about how far science should experiment, the ethics involved in creating machines that can and do express emotions and suffering like humans, and what it means to be human.

Fallout 5

Platform: TBC

Fallout 5 has been confirmed but is yet to come out.

Bethesda is currently focusing on the 2023 release of Starfield and then they have Elder Scrolls 6 to work on, so Fallout 5 may take a while to come out considering the time it takes to attend such projects.

Fallout Timeline Order

Below are the time periods in which the games take place.

The Five Man games are all released in chronological order.

  • Fallout – 2161
  • Fallout 2 – 2241
  • Fallout 3 – 2277
  • Fallout 4 – 2287
Fans urge former Love Island stars to reunite as they meet up after the show
I thought the cleaning products were making my skin itch - the reality was horrible

What are the Fallout spin-off games?

Fallout also spawned a few other spin-off games that are available on PC and consoles.

These are:

  • Fallout Tactics: Brotherhood of Steel (2001)
  • Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel (2004)
  • Fallout: New Vegas (2010)
  • Fallout Shelter (2015)
  • Fallout 4 VR (2017)
  • Fallout 76 (2018)
  • Fallout 76: Nuclear Winter (2019)
  • Fallout 76: Wastelanders (2020)
  • Fallout 76: Reign of Steel (2021)