Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal, Randeep Surjewala of the Congress and Jairam Ramesh and Sanjay Raut of the Shiv Sena were among the 16 candidates elected to the Rajya Sabha from four states, where voting took place on Friday after a dispute over cross-voting and alleged electoral irregularities. Due to the rules, counting of votes in Maharashtra and Haryana was delayed by about eight hours.

In Churshi’s election management show, two BJP candidates and an independent backed by the party, who had an outside chance to get elected, won in Karnataka, Maharashtra and Haryana.

In Maharashtra, the BJP won three of the six Rajya Sabha seats in the state, the results of which were announced on Saturday morning.

The BJP’s winning candidates include Union Minister Piyush Goyal, former Minister of State Anil Bonde and Dhananjay Mahadik. Shiv Sena’s omnipresent face Sanjay Raut, NCP’s Praful Patel, former Union Minister and Congress’ Imran Pratapgarhi also won the Churshi elections.

Former BJP MP Dhananjay Mahadik defeated Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Pawar for the sixth seat.

BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis tweeted, “Elections are not just for fighting, but for victory. Jai Maharashtra.” 24 years.

In Haryana, BJP’s Krishnalal Panwar and saffron-backed independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma won the two seats they contested, while the old party’s former Union Minister Ajay Maken lost.

Returning Officer RK Nandal said that Panwar got 36 votes, while Sharma got 23 first preference votes and 6.6 votes were transferred by BJP, bringing their tally to 29.6. Maken received 29 votes, but lost because he failed to get the second-choice vote.

Congress MLA and official polling agent Bibi Batra said that while the party MLA’s vote was declared invalid, Kuldeep Bishnoi cross-voted for Sharma, a media baron who had entered the fray as an independent candidate backed by the BJP and its ally JJP.

Speaking to reporters at the assembly premises after 4 am, Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar said, “I thank all the MLAs who voted for the BJP candidate and the independent candidate. In a way, this is a victory for the people of Haryana. A victory for democracy.”

Asked if the party would welcome him if he joins, the BJP leader said the party’s doors were open for him.

While strongly supporting the BJP in Karnataka, the ruling party smiled last as it won all the three Rajya Sabha seats out of the four elected.

The main opposition Congress won only one of the two seats for which its candidates were in the fray, leaving the JD (S) vacant.

Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, actor-politician Jagesh and BJP’s MLC Laharsingh Siroya and former Congress Union Minister Jairam Ramesh were declared the winners.

Sitharaman and Ramesh have been re-elected to the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka.

There was suspense over the outcome of the fight for the fourth seat, with all three major political parties vying for the seat, with none of them getting enough votes to win easily.

However, Siroya of the BJP won over Mansoor Ali Khan and D Kupendra Reddy (JDS) of the Congress, with clear votes from rival parties and the support of the independents clearly helping.

In Rajasthan, the ruling Congress won three of the four seats and the BJP one.

BJP-backed independent candidate and media baron Subhash Chandra, whose entry into the fray had spiced up the election campaign, fell on the side of the road. Chandra, who won the last RS election as an independent from Haryana, tried his luck from Rajasthan.

Congress candidates Randeep Surjewala, Mukul Wasnik and Pramod Tiwari were elected and BJP’s Ghanshyam Tiwari was elected.

In an interesting development, BJP MLA Shobharani Kushwaha cross-voted for Congress candidate Pramod Tiwari. The BJP immediately suspended him from the party’s primary membership.

Why did they (BJP) field an independent candidate when everyone knows that 126 MLAs are with us? They wanted to sell horses but it did not happen, said Anandi Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot while talking to reporters at the Assembly complex in Jaipur. .

The victory of the Congress candidates has sent a strong message to the country that the party will retain power in next year’s Assembly elections, he said.

The results were declared in Karnataka and Rajasthan on Friday night, but the results were delayed in Maharashtra and Haryana due to fierce rivalry between the rival parties over alleged violation of voting rules.

The Election Commission allowed the counting of votes after a detailed report was submitted by returning officers with video footage.

In a letter to the CEC, Pradesh Congress president Nana Patole claimed that Mungantiwar had “violated the voting process” by showing his ballot papers to people other than his own party’s election representatives. He alleged that Rana openly displayed the religious book Hanuman Chalisa and tried to impress other voters.

The Election Commission directed the Returning Officer of Maharashtra to reject the vote given by Shiv Sena MLA Suhas Kande.

In Haryana too, the counting of votes was stopped for the same reasons
BJP candidate Krishanlal Panwar and independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma sent a message to the Election Commission, alleging that Congress MLAs Kiran Chaudhary and Bibi Batra showed their ballot papers after marking unauthorized persons and that the part was “properly captured” on camera.

The elections took place in four states amid fears of horse trading and allegations of incitement to cross-voting. The major parties took their legislators to hotels and scenic resorts to keep their flocks together but could not stop some of the sheep from jumping into the ditch.